Japan Day 18: Last Day

Omg our last full day in Japan!!!  We woke up early to eat at a restaurant that I read rave reviews about on a the blog called Migrationology. Luxury sukiyaki on a budget sounds amazing to me!

It’s a quick walk from the station, but it felt longer because of the crazy heat and humidity. 18 days in Japan and we still weren’t used to it. haha. We got to the restaurant pretty early. We were the first ones there!

IMG_3974

The outside of the restaurant looks like this.

While waiting for the restaurant to open, we took some pics hahaha. I also talked to this couple who were waiting too. They said they were from Singapore and I wanted to ask them if they knew Xiaxue (one of my favorite Singaporean bloggers lol) but I was too shy hahahah.

Inside the restaurant, before we were seated, we were shown a laminated piece of paper indicating that non-Japanese speakers without accompanying Japanese speakers would not be served. I gave the paper back and said “daijoubu” and the woman smiled and seated us. ACCOMPLISHMENT!!!!

Also when we were given a menu all I said was “4 sukiyaki lunch sets” cause I had no idea what I was looking at LOLOL. Everyone at the communal table ordered that. No pics of our food but you can see us eat it in the vlog! It was delicious and such a new experience for us since we had never eaten anything dipped in raw egg before. I am drooling just thinking about the melt-in-your-mouth beef! Even the rice was extra tasty hahaha

IMG_5610.JPG

My sister got a drink from the  vending machine on the walk back since it was soo hot and the water cups at restaurants in Japan are soooo small.

IMG_3988.PNG

We went back to Shibuya Station and then we walked to the Shibuya Mark City Hotel so that we could arrange for tickets for the shuttle to the airport for the next day. I asked the lady behind the counter for tickets and she said we had to call a number and order them through the phone.

I went back to the rest of the group and said I was tired of making all the arrangements and could someone please make the phone call? Since I had literally arranged every single thing for the entire trip.

Silence followed.

Then, excuses.

My cousin said his phone didn’t have service. I said that was fine, he could borrow my phone. Silence.

My brother just flat out refused to and said we could take the train. What the hell, I can’t manage our luggage up and down stairs in the train station. What’s more, my brother has a broken arm and wouldn’t be able to help my sister and I out with our luggage cause he wouldn’t even be able to deal with his own??

I was getting really mad because I felt like I was asking for ONE little detail that I wouldn’t have to do, and no one would step up. My cousin just walked away from us and no amount of asking was working on my stubborn brother. He said he just didn’t want to.

My poor sister grabbed her phone and called the number and spent thirty minutes talking to a Japanese man to try and get tickets. It took so long because he kept confirming with her to make sure he didn’t make a mistake. She said his English was good but he took a while to understand but in the end everything was taken care of. I was beyond grateful that my sister took this responsibility off of my plate but absolutely livid at my brother and cousin. I felt like they were so childish for having me prepare EVERYTHING on the trip for them without helping out with one phone call. But we got over it the Asian way, by just pretending it didn’t happen, and we walked to the grocery store in Tokyu Department Store to buy more fruit LOL. No video from this part because we were still getting over our anger hahaha my sister and I walked separately from the boys and ranted to each other about how they were being babies….hhahahaha ugh.

IMG_3998

Perks of having an apartment in Tokyo: You have a mini kitchen with knives and cutting boards hahaha. Peeled these peaches after slicing them and it’s really cool, the peel just slides right off the fruit! It’s like it was wearing clothes LOLOL. Japanese peaches…they’re amazing on a different level. If you’re in Japan, you better try them!

IMG_4001.JPG

We bought more donuts from the bakery too!

IMG_5615.JPG

That night we went to Family Mart and spent all the money from each of our Pasmo cards (and more in cash) on candy and snacks to give as gifts to friends and family. SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT MOREEEEE. The Mitsuya Cider candy was my mom’s favorite. The chocolate biscuits we gave to my uncle. I gave a bag of the Gudetama candy to my friend Christine and the DragonBall Z candy to Chris.

That night my brother and cousin went clubbing or something in Shinjuku. And my sister and I stayed behind and finished packing and cleaning up the apartment. Then my brother came back alone!!! Turned out they went to a club where the entrance fee was like 30 USD and my brother was like no way and left after he gave his phone to my cousin (so he could use it to figure out what train to take home and text us to come down and open the apartment lobby door for him). LOL. My brother helped us clean up and vacuum and then we went to sleep.

Vlog from this day:

Until next time,

C.


Places:

Yoshihashi Sukiyaki

Address: Japan, 〒107-0051 Tokyo, 港区Motoakasaka, 1−5−25

Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: Japan, 〒150-0043 Tokyo, Shibuya, Dogenzaka, 1 Chome−12−2 SHIBUYA MARK CITY 渋谷 マーク シティ 内

Tokyu Honten Department Store

Address: 2-24-1 Dogenzaka, Shibuya, Tokyo 150-0002, Japan

 

Leave a Reply

